About the Board

Frank BednardFrank Bednard, President, has served for over 20 years on the board and works for Macomb County. He is married to Pamela and has two children. Their daughter is a graduate of Dakota High School, and their son is a graduate of Chippewa Valley High School. Frank has been a visible presence in the community and local schools as safety instructor. He has served as a positive role model for youth as a former coach for ice hockey, basketball, and football. Frank is the Chairperson of the Building and Site Sub-Committee, and serves on the Operations Sub-Committee. Since joining the board, Frank has worked hard in the community to gain support for over $300 million in bond improvements, and has especially moved forward school safety initiatives.

Denise AquinoDenise Aquino, Vice President, has served on the Board for more than 23 years. She is married to Rich. Denise has two children, both Dakota graduates. Her daughter is a teacher at CVHS. Denise has been involved in our District for many years serving on special committees, the Mohawk PTO and the Dakota Boosters. She has been very active with school legislative issues, the need for equitable funding, and district bond proposals. Local legislators know her as an advocate for children and school funding issues. Denise is Chairperson of the Personnel Sub-Committee and serves on the Curriculum Sub-Committee.

Laura CardamoneLaura Cardamone, Secretary, has served on the board for over 5 years. She is a Clinton Township resident and is married with two sons that attend Chippewa Valley Schools. She is a licensed clinical social worker with 26 years of experience. She is in private practice and is a co-owner of a small business in Mount Clemens. In her private practice Laura works with adults, children, and families. Laura has a Master's of Social Work from Wayne State University. She serves on the Building & Site Sub-committee and the Personnel Sub-committee. Laura is committed to the success of Chippewa Valley Schools and sees first-hand the impact that a quality education has on our youth and families.

Jill DeMuynck Zech

Jill DeMuynck Zech, Treasurer, has served on the board for over 5 years. She is a Chippewa Valley High School alumna, an experienced accountant, an advocate for children with special needs, and a small business owner. Jill along with her husband and three children reside in Macomb Township. She has two elementary aged children and one child in middle school. She is committed to the future of the Chippewa Valley School District. Jill's education and experience give her the expertise to balance the needs of our students and our school community. She has a bachelor's degree in accountancy from Walsh College and a master of science degree in administration from Central Michigan University.  Jill is Chairperson of the Finance and Operations Sub-committees, and serves on the Curriculum Sub-committee.

Andrew PatzertAndy Patzert, Trustee, has served for over 17 years on the board. He retired from Chippewa Valley High School after 32 years as a counselor, teacher, and coach. He is married to his wife Lynn and they have three children. Andy's son graduated from Chippewa Valley High School in 1989. He has served on numerous committees including the Chippewa Valley Athletic Hall of Fame Committee. Andy is a big supporter of our athletic programs and a frequent face at school activities.  He was inducted into the CVHS Hall of Fame for his accomplishments in the area of athletics. He is Chairperson of the Curriculum Sub-Committee and serves on the Operations Sub-Committee.



Beth PydenElizabeth Pyden, Trustee, has served on the board since November 2012.  She is currently a partner in the Saurbier Law Firm, P.C. in St. Clair Shores where her practice focuses on general civil litigation, including medical malpractice, family law, and employment law. She graduated from Chippewa Valley High School and went on to earn a Bachelor of Science in Biopsychology, Cognitive Science and Women’s Studies from the University of Michigan in 1997. She received her Juris Doctorate from Wayne State University Law School in 2000.  Beth is a member of the State Bar of Michigan, as well as the United States Patent and Trademark Office. She has been admitted to practice before the United States District Court for both the Eastern and Western Districts of Michigan, the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, and the United States Supreme Court.  She was recognized by Super Lawyers as a Rising Star in 2013, 2014, and 2015.  Beth also maintains an appointment to the Board of Directors of the Macomb Oakland Regional Center (MORC), the largest non-profit corporation in Michigan whose mission is serving individuals with developmental disabilities and mental illness.  She has also been involved with the Women Lawyer’s Association of Michigan, the Macomb County Bar Association, the Macomb Homeless Coalition, the board of her homeowners association, the 9th Congressional District Democratic Party and the Macomb County Democratic Committee.  Beth is passionate about supporting public education and giving back to the Chippewa Valley District because of the excellent foundation she received as a student in Chippewa Valley.  Beth also serves on the Board of Directors for the Chippewa Valley Educational Foundation. She enjoys reading, gardening, tennis, being involved in her community, and attempting to train her poodle, Charley.  Beth serves on the Personnel and Finance Sub-Committees.

George SobahGeorge Sobah, Trustee, has been a board member for over 20 years. He is retired from law enforcement for the City of St. Clair Shores. He has three daughters and one son. All of his children have attended Chippewa Valley Schools and three have graduated from Chippewa Valley High School. He has been involved in Chippewa Valley through his school PTO as a member and treasurer. He has volunteered his time to many school related projects and organizations. George is a trusted Board member who is always willing to share his knowledge and expertise on issues concerning school safety and security. He serves on the Finance Sub-Committee, and on the Building and Site Sub-Committee.